Otmar Kaup turns 95 Innovator, Entrepreneur and Motivator

Aschaffenburg, 25 September 2023 - Otmar Kaup, a pioneer of materials handling technology, turns 95. The energetic company founder of KAUP GmbH & Co. KG (KAUP), who says about himself "finding solutions for every impossibility", celebrates this special birthday on 25 September.

The trained blacksmith and studied engineer has dedicated more than 60 years to his mechanical engineering company. Founded in 1962, KAUP is now the world's largest independent manufacturer of attachments for forklift trucks. Otmar Kaup's ideas and designs laid the basis for the success and current size of the medium-sized family driven business. And even in his old age, Otmar Kaup continues to sparkle with ideas and their implementation drives him. That is why he continues to be active in 'his company' for several hours every day and still works as one of the managing directors.

A Pioneer of Material Handling

The passionate sportsman Otmar Kaup influenced the industry with numerous innovative developments. After all, he had already been working in the field of materials handling technology for several years before founding his company. The decisive station after his mechanical engineering studies and subsequent episode at MAN in Augsburg was the Güldner-Motoren-Werke in Aschaffenburg, today known as Linde Material Handling. There, Otmar Kaup, as one of the responsible designers, was significantly involved in the development of the first hydrostatically driven forklift truck - the 'Hubtrac'. As the pallet principle was becoming more and more important at the time, and at the same time the number of producers of forklift truck attachments was still manageable, Otmar Kaup saw the opportunity for his company. Starting with five employees, today KAUP has about 900 employees worldwide.

Numerous Honours

Otmar Kaup has received numerous honours and awards for his entrepreneurial commitment. Notable among these are the Citizen's Medal of the City of Aschaffenburg in 2005, the VDI Badge of Honour (2000) and the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany awarded in 1998.